A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
OFS
Topic Author
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2015 10:42 am

MIDI mapping for a third party drum plugin

Sat Aug 01, 2020 3:20 am

Hello everyone,

I'm using Logic's new step sequencer with Wave Alchemy's Revolution drum machine plugin. It's a Kontakt instrument. I'm trying to remap the drum kit pieces in Logic's step sequencer to the correct drum kit pieces in Revolution. Can you tell me what's the best way to do this? I prefer some process that could be saved, so that I could use it in other projects in the future. Any ideas?

Thanks!
Miguel Barrosa
Logic Pro X 10.4.8
OS X 10.14.6
iMac Retina 5K, 27-inch, 2019
3.6 GHz Intel Core i9
64 GB 2667 MHz DDR4
UAD Apollo 8p + 2x UAD Satellite TB Octa Core + UAD Apollo Twin Quad Mk II
 
User avatar
Atlas007
Posts: 8885
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:58 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: MIDI mapping for a third party drum plugin

Sun Aug 02, 2020 6:27 am

There are many ways to do that.
One that I would try at first is a MIDI Fx Scripter remapper. Many are available for free.
LogicX 10.5.1 ( & 9.1.8),MainStage3.4.4
MBPro 17", Core2Duo, 8G, OSX 10.12.6
MacPro, Xeon 6Cores, 64GB, OSX 10.15.5
ULN8, MOTU MIDI TP-AV, C4, MCU Pro, KorgNano, Novation SLMkII
AAS, NI, Celemony, Spectrasonics, Korg, etc...
PC, iPad3(V-Control & LogicRemote), AtariST(Notator SL), Several vintage gear
 
User avatar
OFS
Topic Author
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2015 10:42 am

Re: MIDI mapping for a third party drum plugin

Sun Aug 02, 2020 7:19 am

Atlas007 wrote:
There are many ways to do that.
One that I would try at first is a MIDI Fx Scripter remapper. Many are available for free.


Thanks Atlas.
Do you know if there’s any way to do at the Kontakt level, so I can also use it in Pro Tools?
Logic Pro X 10.4.8
OS X 10.14.6
iMac Retina 5K, 27-inch, 2019
3.6 GHz Intel Core i9
64 GB 2667 MHz DDR4
UAD Apollo 8p + 2x UAD Satellite TB Octa Core + UAD Apollo Twin Quad Mk II
 
User avatar
Atlas007
Posts: 8885
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:58 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: MIDI mapping for a third party drum plugin

Mon Aug 03, 2020 3:15 am

I think this NI forum thread could be helpful...
LogicX 10.5.1 ( & 9.1.8),MainStage3.4.4
MBPro 17", Core2Duo, 8G, OSX 10.12.6
MacPro, Xeon 6Cores, 64GB, OSX 10.15.5
ULN8, MOTU MIDI TP-AV, C4, MCU Pro, KorgNano, Novation SLMkII
AAS, NI, Celemony, Spectrasonics, Korg, etc...
PC, iPad3(V-Control & LogicRemote), AtariST(Notator SL), Several vintage gear
 
User avatar
OFS
Topic Author
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Jan 01, 2015 10:42 am

Re: MIDI mapping for a third party drum plugin

Mon Aug 03, 2020 3:40 am

Hi Atlas, thanks a lot! I’ll look into it.
Logic Pro X 10.4.8
OS X 10.14.6
iMac Retina 5K, 27-inch, 2019
3.6 GHz Intel Core i9
64 GB 2667 MHz DDR4
UAD Apollo 8p + 2x UAD Satellite TB Octa Core + UAD Apollo Twin Quad Mk II