A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
Dewdman42
Topic Author
Posts: 3365
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:01 pm

Re: TIP: Scripter Keyswitches

Thu Jun 24, 2021 8:37 pm

Try this one:

https://gitlab.com/dewdman42/art2script/-/blob/main/art2script.sh

Here's another little tip too. You can use this command line tool together with the pbcopy command to automatically copy it to the clipboard too.

getSwitches.sh artset.plist | pbcopy
Last edited by Dewdman42 on Sun Oct 17, 2021 10:01 pm, edited 6 times in total.
OSX 10.15 (Catalina) on OpenCore - Logic Pro 10.6.1, VePro7, Mainstage3
5,1 MacPro 3.46ghz x 12 96gb ram
 
User avatar
D4rkKn1ght
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2021 6:01 pm

Re: TIP: Scripter Keyswitches

Thu Jun 24, 2021 10:22 pm

Legend. Seems to work perfectly! :)
 
User avatar
D4rkKn1ght
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Apr 30, 2021 6:01 pm

Re: TIP: Scripter Keyswitches

Thu Jun 24, 2021 10:51 pm

Just a note for anyone following in our footsteps here:

The keyswitches that Terminal will output when you feed it the .plist will be bracketed by these { }

If you paste that directly into the Scripter script, it won't work. So first I pasted into TextEdit (any word processor will do obviously) and did a find/replace to change all of the { } to [ ]

Then it worked perfectly.
 
User avatar
Dewdman42
Topic Author
Posts: 3365
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:01 pm

Re: TIP: Scripter Keyswitches

Thu Jun 24, 2021 10:57 pm

stupid bug on my part, the script is fixed now.
OSX 10.15 (Catalina) on OpenCore - Logic Pro 10.6.1, VePro7, Mainstage3
5,1 MacPro 3.46ghz x 12 96gb ram
 
ravez
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon May 24, 2021 2:07 pm

Re: TIP: Scripter Keyswitches

Sun Oct 17, 2021 8:43 pm

Hi, i am using the automation points (in the lane) via scripter to switch articulations, not using articulation sets at all.
How can i change the script to receive midi in order to trigger the articulations via a midi controller?
What i'd like is a way to write the automation points in the automation lane using a midi controller instead of selecting them with the mouse. Is it possible? thanks
 
User avatar
Dewdman42
Topic Author
Posts: 3365
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:01 pm

Re: TIP: Scripter Keyswitches

Sun Oct 17, 2021 8:49 pm

I'm not 100% sure. I am mostly not using LogicPro anymore either...so limited time available to pursue this.

You have a generic question to ask which is how to program automation lane curves using a midi controller. You should ask that question on the main LogicPro forum...Its probably something related to Control Surface capabilities of LogicPro, but I'm not entirely sure.

Scripter is able to READ the current automation lane value, and do something with it. its also able to change the CURRENT value of that automation lane...but I do not think scripter can be used to actually SET points in the automation lane.

And I am pretty sure that in order to do that with a midi controller you will need to setup a Control Surface integration for that...but ask on the other LogicPro main sub forum about that.
OSX 10.15 (Catalina) on OpenCore - Logic Pro 10.6.1, VePro7, Mainstage3
5,1 MacPro 3.46ghz x 12 96gb ram
 
ravez
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon May 24, 2021 2:07 pm

Re: TIP: Scripter Keyswitches

Sun Oct 17, 2021 8:53 pm

sounds good thx!
 
User avatar
Dewdman42
Topic Author
Posts: 3365
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:01 pm

Re: TIP: Scripter Keyswitches

Sun Oct 17, 2021 9:29 pm

here's an updated version of the art2script bash script that will generate the COMPLETE working Scripter script, including the KS array of keyswitches, along with the working script. If I get time I will update it to be able to optionally generate the automation lane script with a command line argument. Hope some find it useful.

I have also moved these scripts to the following location on gitlab:

https://gitlab.com/dewdman42/art2script
Last edited by Dewdman42 on Sun Oct 17, 2021 9:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
OSX 10.15 (Catalina) on OpenCore - Logic Pro 10.6.1, VePro7, Mainstage3
5,1 MacPro 3.46ghz x 12 96gb ram
 
User avatar
Atlas007
Posts: 10401
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:58 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: TIP: Scripter Keyswitches

Sun Oct 17, 2021 9:42 pm

Dewdman42 wrote:
here's an updated version of the art2script bash script that will generate the COMPLETE working Scripter script, including the KS array of keyswitches, along with the working script. If I get time I will update it to be able to optionally generate the automation lane script with a command line argument. Hope some find it useful.

I have also moved these scripts to the following location on gitlab:

https://gitlab.com/dewdman42/dawtools/-/tree/master/LogicPro/Scripter/Art2Script

The link yields a 404...
LogicPro 10.7.1, MainStage 3.5.4
MBPro 17", Core2Duo, 8G, OSX 10.12.6
MacPro, Xeon 6Cores, 64GB, OSX 10.15.7
ULN8, MOTU MIDI TP-AV, C4, MCU Pro, KorgNano, Novation SLMkII
AAS, NI, Celemony, Spectrasonics, Korg, Arturia, etc...
PC, iPadPro 5th gen 12.9”(Duet D., V-Control & LogicRemote), AtariST(Notator SL), Several vintage gear
 
User avatar
Dewdman42
Topic Author
Posts: 3365
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:01 pm

Re: TIP: Scripter Keyswitches

Sun Oct 17, 2021 9:44 pm

not for me it doesn't look deeper into it
OSX 10.15 (Catalina) on OpenCore - Logic Pro 10.6.1, VePro7, Mainstage3
5,1 MacPro 3.46ghz x 12 96gb ram
 
User avatar
Atlas007
Posts: 10401
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:58 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: TIP: Scripter Keyswitches

Sun Oct 17, 2021 9:48 pm

It seems that your script is available only for you then...
LogicPro 10.7.1, MainStage 3.5.4
MBPro 17", Core2Duo, 8G, OSX 10.12.6
MacPro, Xeon 6Cores, 64GB, OSX 10.15.7
ULN8, MOTU MIDI TP-AV, C4, MCU Pro, KorgNano, Novation SLMkII
AAS, NI, Celemony, Spectrasonics, Korg, Arturia, etc...
PC, iPadPro 5th gen 12.9”(Duet D., V-Control & LogicRemote), AtariST(Notator SL), Several vintage gear
 
User avatar
Dewdman42
Topic Author
Posts: 3365
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:01 pm

Re: TIP: Scripter Keyswitches

Sun Oct 17, 2021 9:50 pm

no I don't think so, but I will look to make sure. are you able to access gitlab generally?
OSX 10.15 (Catalina) on OpenCore - Logic Pro 10.6.1, VePro7, Mainstage3
5,1 MacPro 3.46ghz x 12 96gb ram
 
User avatar
Dewdman42
Topic Author
Posts: 3365
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:01 pm

Re: TIP: Scripter Keyswitches

Sun Oct 17, 2021 9:51 pm

I was wrong, I put it in a private repo you're right. I'm not ready to make that repo public, so I will create a new one, stay tuned...
OSX 10.15 (Catalina) on OpenCore - Logic Pro 10.6.1, VePro7, Mainstage3
5,1 MacPro 3.46ghz x 12 96gb ram
 
User avatar
Atlas007
Posts: 10401
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:58 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: TIP: Scripter Keyswitches

Sun Oct 17, 2021 9:55 pm

Ok! Thanx!
LogicPro 10.7.1, MainStage 3.5.4
MBPro 17", Core2Duo, 8G, OSX 10.12.6
MacPro, Xeon 6Cores, 64GB, OSX 10.15.7
ULN8, MOTU MIDI TP-AV, C4, MCU Pro, KorgNano, Novation SLMkII
AAS, NI, Celemony, Spectrasonics, Korg, Arturia, etc...
PC, iPadPro 5th gen 12.9”(Duet D., V-Control & LogicRemote), AtariST(Notator SL), Several vintage gear
 
User avatar
Dewdman42
Topic Author
Posts: 3365
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:01 pm

Re: TIP: Scripter Keyswitches

Sun Oct 17, 2021 9:55 pm

OSX 10.15 (Catalina) on OpenCore - Logic Pro 10.6.1, VePro7, Mainstage3
5,1 MacPro 3.46ghz x 12 96gb ram
 
User avatar
Atlas007
Posts: 10401
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:58 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: TIP: Scripter Keyswitches

Sun Oct 17, 2021 10:09 pm

Great!
Thanx a lot!
LogicPro 10.7.1, MainStage 3.5.4
MBPro 17", Core2Duo, 8G, OSX 10.12.6
MacPro, Xeon 6Cores, 64GB, OSX 10.15.7
ULN8, MOTU MIDI TP-AV, C4, MCU Pro, KorgNano, Novation SLMkII
AAS, NI, Celemony, Spectrasonics, Korg, Arturia, etc...
PC, iPadPro 5th gen 12.9”(Duet D., V-Control & LogicRemote), AtariST(Notator SL), Several vintage gear
 
User avatar
Dewdman42
Topic Author
Posts: 3365
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:01 pm

Re: TIP: Scripter Keyswitches

Mon Oct 18, 2021 2:03 pm

I updated the scripts a bit today, now the bash script can be used to generate either type of script.....

  1. based on articulationID to send keyswitches or cc switches
  2. based on an automation lane to send keyswitches or cc switches
  3. or optionally just output the ART array and use whatever script you want

In the case of articulationID, after you generate the script, make sure to clear the OUTPUT section of the articulation set you used to generate it. The articulation set is still useful in order to see articulation names in the LogicPro GUI, but not essential. ArticulationID's stored in midi events will trigger the keyswitches as configured.

When using the automation lane script, you can get rid of the articulation set entirely from your project track once you have generated the automation lane script.

Usage

art2script.sh [options] <artset.plist>

Options:
  --id    (default)   produces articulationID based script
  --lane              produces automation lane script
  --array             produces only the ART array
 
OSX 10.15 (Catalina) on OpenCore - Logic Pro 10.6.1, VePro7, Mainstage3
5,1 MacPro 3.46ghz x 12 96gb ram
 
User avatar
Dewdman42
Topic Author
Posts: 3365
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:01 pm

Re: TIP: Scripter Keyswitches

Mon Oct 18, 2021 2:08 pm

Note with this, it is also possible to have multiple articulation sets in parallel!!! This is kind of like Cubase Groups feature.

Basically you can have only one actual articulation set active on a track at once in LogicPro. So articulationID in midi events will trigger from that articulationset....regardless of whether you are using the output section of the artset, or using this Scripter script instead.

However...

You can have at the same time also a completely seperate and independent set of keyswitches managed by an automation lane, at the same time that that the articulationID is being handled...in parallel. For example, you could use articulationID to specify the basic articulations and an automation lane to specify mute on or off. Just one example.

You can also have more than one automation lane script active in one track at a time.
OSX 10.15 (Catalina) on OpenCore - Logic Pro 10.6.1, VePro7, Mainstage3
5,1 MacPro 3.46ghz x 12 96gb ram
 
User avatar
Dewdman42
Topic Author
Posts: 3365
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2014 3:01 pm

Re: TIP: Scripter Keyswitches

Tue Oct 19, 2021 1:25 pm

OSX 10.15 (Catalina) on OpenCore - Logic Pro 10.6.1, VePro7, Mainstage3
5,1 MacPro 3.46ghz x 12 96gb ram