A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
firebird1o1
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2021 10:56 am

How to crossfade a song

Mon Aug 16, 2021 10:46 am

Hello...
I was wondering how best to crossfade a song. Past bar 49 is the same sound as the beginning, so it can be crossfaded, but how do I crossfade it?
Screen Shot 2021-08-16 at 11.43.20 AM.png
Screen Shot 2021-08-16 at 11.43.20 AM.png (219.5 KiB) Viewed 4603 times

Do I need more than two audio files to do it? Thanks.
 
User avatar
Atlas007
Posts: 10412
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:58 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: How to crossfade a song

Mon Aug 16, 2021 1:35 pm

AFAIK, crossfade is indeed something you can use between audio regions in Logic...
Perhaps clarifying your end goal could help understand your issue...
LogicPro 10.7.1, MainStage 3.5.4
MBPro 17", Core2Duo, 8G, OSX 10.12.6
MacPro, Xeon 6Cores, 64GB, OSX 10.15.7
ULN8, MOTU MIDI TP-AV, C4, MCU Pro, KorgNano, Novation SLMkII
AAS, NI, Celemony, Spectrasonics, Korg, Arturia, etc...
PC, iPadPro 5th gen 12.9”(Duet D., V-Control & LogicRemote), AtariST(Notator SL), Several vintage gear
 
firebird1o1
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2021 10:56 am

Re: How to crossfade a song

Tue Aug 17, 2021 2:28 pm

I am trying to loop the song without creating a click, and it needs to be able to loop indefinitely. When I try to crossfade the beginning with the end, I can't figure out how to avoid a click of some sort. I have just been masking it with another noise, but I'm sure there is a better way to do this.
 
User avatar
Atlas007
Posts: 10412
Joined: Mon Dec 14, 2009 11:58 pm
Location: Montreal

Re: How to crossfade a song

Wed Aug 18, 2021 1:32 pm

That's odd. Click are usually associated to audio artefact, which could indeed be alleviated by mean of crossfades, or wave redraw or using the snap to zero crossing option.

But in your case, according to the posted pictures, it involves MIDI region. I'd venture that might be due to CPU overload spikes.
BTW, is there any other tracks in your project (that could be involved in your issue)?

Have you tried adjusting (increasing) the I/O buffers in your audio prefs?

Otherwise, if the project involves only those MIDI regions, one could bounce-in-place the track, use fades in / out at beginning & end respectively and then playback only that track (muting the problematic MIDI - other track source-s).
Admittedly that represents a convoluted workaround, but worth trying...
LogicPro 10.7.1, MainStage 3.5.4
MBPro 17", Core2Duo, 8G, OSX 10.12.6
MacPro, Xeon 6Cores, 64GB, OSX 10.15.7
ULN8, MOTU MIDI TP-AV, C4, MCU Pro, KorgNano, Novation SLMkII
AAS, NI, Celemony, Spectrasonics, Korg, Arturia, etc...
PC, iPadPro 5th gen 12.9”(Duet D., V-Control & LogicRemote), AtariST(Notator SL), Several vintage gear
 
firebird1o1
Topic Author
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Mar 12, 2021 10:56 am

Re: How to crossfade a song

Sun Aug 22, 2021 4:31 pm

I increased the I/O buffer to 512, and it worked! Thank you so much.
 
MikeRobinson
Posts: 1122
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 3:42 pm
Location: Just south of Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA.

Re: How to crossfade a song

Wed Aug 25, 2021 10:10 am

"Bounce in place" is actually a very handy thing which Logic has implemented very well. When you've developed your song to the point that you're satisfied with "what it sounds like," Logic makes it extremely easy to then treat it as an audio file. (And, since the "bounce" and its source remain directly connected, it's trivial to re-do it.)

I still use this feature a lot, even though my hardware is now considerably more capable than it used to be. (Yay!)
Mike Robinson
"I wanna quit being a computer consultant and become a composer and arranger at age fifty-nevermind."
Logic Pro X, MacBook Pro, 88-key MIDI controller.
Just south of Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA