A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

soccerpie
Topic Author

how to figure out the key of a song - remixing

Sat Jan 14, 2012 5:58 pm

I am somewhat new to remixing and would like to remix this song. How do you figure out the key note of a song (using Logic) ?

I don't know if this has been posted before but if any of have any tips or tricks or know how to do this, it would be a great help :)

This is the song http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3iHFE0MuCkk: Emma - Crashing Down

Thank you

In the remix pack, it doesn't give any information regarding the key note.

Beer Moth

Re: how to figure out the key of a song - remixing

Sat Jan 14, 2012 6:04 pm

If you don't know how to work out the key by ear,Logic is only gonna help you so far.
Music is the answer.

(It's in Gb/F#,btw).
Cloggy,to those who remember.

Sinclair Zx Spectrum,Hollow tubes,string in abundance, 10^15, synapses,except on days off.
iMac27" 3.4Ghz 16GB Logic 10.4

skylark

Sat Jan 14, 2012 10:18 pm

Beer Moth wrote:
If you don't know how to work out the key by ear,Logic is only gonna help you so far.

Logic is only gonna help you get so far, even if you do know how to work out the key by ear.
MacPro 8 Core 2.4GHz 24GB RAM • Apogee Symphony 64 2 x 6 • MOTU 424 2408 (2) + 24 i/o (2) • OS 10.14.6 • Logic Pro 10.5.1

soccerpie
Topic Author

Sun Jan 15, 2012 10:52 am

I feel like most people just get a simple accoustic instrument and play with it until you find the keys that sound right with the original song. Is that the way to go if the artisit doesn't provide the MIDI files?

Beer Moth

Sun Jan 15, 2012 5:00 pm

With a few exceptions,the key is the key.
It's not subjective.
But yes,playing along is as good a way as any to find it.

Sinclair Zx Spectrum,Hollow tubes,string in abundance, 10^15, synapses,except on days off.

liquidlogic

Sun Jan 15, 2012 5:50 pm