A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
logicProBigUser
Topic Author
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2020 1:42 am

Add sustain to arpegio

Wed May 27, 2020 8:03 am

I am using the arpegio midi fx on a simple piano part.

I would like to add a pedal (sustain) effect to the arpegio itself. However, adding sustain via automation does not do anything (not too sruprising given that the notes are generated by the arpegio effect itself).

The problem is that the arpegio gives too much the feeling of individual disjointed notes. I need a sustain effect to blend the arpegio more nicely.

How can I do that ?

Thanks !
 
User avatar
Goergtn
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 3:08 pm
Location: Nashville, TN.

Re: Add sustain to arpegio

Sun Jun 07, 2020 4:36 pm

What’s the instrument you’re arp’ing?
Most sampled instruments or synth voices have an envelope assigned to their amp. Try increasing the release - the R in ADSR.
Add some reverb? Add some delay? Add both?
I don’t know why you can’t add sustain. You should be able to just record your sustain pedal into the region, or manually add CC#64 at a value of 65 to 127.
LPX 10.5.1
iMac 3.4 GHz i5, 24 gig ram, OS 10.14.6 (Mojave) RME FF800
Omnisphere, Trilian, RMX, Sup.Drummer
 
logicProBigUser
Topic Author
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2020 1:42 am

Re: Add sustain to arpegio

Tue Jun 09, 2020 8:47 am

Hi @Goergtn, I am arping the piano. The sustain is ignored because the notes are actually generated by the midi effect arpegio, and the sustain will only apply on the original notes I wrote in the midi track (which are far fewer).
 
User avatar
Goergtn
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 3:08 pm
Location: Nashville, TN.

Re: Add sustain to arpegio

Tue Jun 09, 2020 1:32 pm

Oh, I understand now about not using sustain cc’s.
No release parameter in your piano instrument ?
That’s all I got.
LPX 10.5.1
iMac 3.4 GHz i5, 24 gig ram, OS 10.14.6 (Mojave) RME FF800
Omnisphere, Trilian, RMX, Sup.Drummer
 
logicProBigUser
Topic Author
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2020 1:42 am

Re: Add sustain to arpegio

Tue Jun 09, 2020 5:22 pm

Thanks for your help.

I am simply using the default grand piano steinway that ships with logic pro x. I am not sure what the release parameter is?
 
User avatar
Goergtn
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 3:08 pm
Location: Nashville, TN.

Re: Add sustain to arpegio

Tue Jun 09, 2020 8:45 pm

Open up the instrument plug-in interface. It should be the EXS24 or, if you’re on 10.5, simply called Sampler.
In the EXS24 window (Bottom) there are two envelopes marked A D S R - these stand for Attack Decay Sustain and Release. The first envelope is assigned to the filter - no need to fool with this. The second one, on the right side, is assigned to the amp. As you increase the “R” (Release) the note will die out slower when played - more sustain !
Run your ARP effect as you adjust this to get sustain the way you want and not have the notes run together. Then save it with a unique name so you can easily find it for later use.
If you are on 10.5, the Sampler will have similar controls in there, but I didn’t stay on 10.5 long enough to work with the Sampler too much so I’m not sure to tell you exactly where the envelopes are - but they’re in there!
HTH
LPX 10.5.1
iMac 3.4 GHz i5, 24 gig ram, OS 10.14.6 (Mojave) RME FF800
Omnisphere, Trilian, RMX, Sup.Drummer
 
User avatar
Goergtn
Posts: 69
Joined: Wed Aug 26, 2015 3:08 pm
Location: Nashville, TN.

Re: Add sustain to arpegio

Tue Jun 09, 2020 8:48 pm

I just thought of this -
The ARP effect might have a “gate time” adjustment - try fooling with that.
LPX 10.5.1
iMac 3.4 GHz i5, 24 gig ram, OS 10.14.6 (Mojave) RME FF800
Omnisphere, Trilian, RMX, Sup.Drummer
 
logicProBigUser
Topic Author
Posts: 46
Joined: Tue Apr 14, 2020 1:42 am

Re: Add sustain to arpegio

Wed Jun 10, 2020 1:17 pm

Ok, I will try that. Thank you!