Stereo Outputs metering in the red but volume is low

I'm a Pro Tools user mixing a project in Logic. It seems that my stereo mix has little headroom before it goes into the red. I mean, I can have my mix in the red and it still isn't up to volume when I check it against other mastered material. In Pro Tools I don't have this problem, if my overall output is at O I'm actually at 0 or close enough. If I want to send the mastering guy a -3db mix I can dial that in. What am I missing in Logic to be able to meter this way. I'm guessing it's a preference somewhere? I'm using a bombfactory meter set to peak in Pro Tools. I've been using the meter plugin in Logic, is this wrong?

Macbook Pro, OSX 10.6.4, 2.8GHZ Inter Core Duo, 4GB RAM, Logic 9.1.1, Lacie SATA 1 TB 7200 RPM HD, Apogee Ensemble

I'm a Pro Tools user mixing a project in Logic. It seems that my stereo mix has little headroom before it goes into the red. I mean, I can have my mix in the red and it still isn't up to volume when I check it against other mastered material.

"other mastered material"... so you mix is already mastered? :? Otherwise if your stuff is not mastered already, you're obviously comparing apples and oranges.

What I'm saying is that it's not up to comparable volume yet it is still metering in the red. I normally put a limiter on the final bus to get enough volume so the client doesn't have to turn it up twice as loud as everything else in his cd player to get the same volume. This is a common practice in my experience. So my question is... why does my meter go into the red when it's still at half the volume of what it will eventually be? I feel like the meters aren't telling the whole truth. I'm actually asking a very practical question.