first beat of song always cut off after bounce. HELP!!!

bluesnfire401

Hey all,

I'm new to logic but have experience with Reason and a pretty good sense of these types of programs. I recently created a song in Logic using the MIDI plug-ins (and synced to video for a film score) and i've found that no matter how i bounce it, the first beat or so is always cut off in the resulting bounce, even though it plays fine with just normal playback!!! has anyone else had this problem? any suggestions for a fix? VERY FRUSTRATING!!! thanks a bunch!

David

yes, i did try that and it worked. it just complicates things a bit when i'm giving my film guy SMPTE codes for syncing up my music cues with his film. the bottom line is, i should be able to bounce a song without the inconvenience of the first beat being cut off. what i'm really looking for here is a fix, not a work-around :-) but thanks very much for the suggestion!!!

yes, i did try that and it worked. it just complicates things a bit when i'm giving my film guy SMPTE codes for syncing up my music cues with his film. the bottom line is, i should be able to bounce a song without the inconvenience of the first beat being cut off. what i'm really looking for here is a fix, not a work-around :-) but thanks very much for the suggestion!!!

couldn't you just compensate for that extra bar when giving him the SMPTE code?

While I hear your frustration and this is indeed something that needs fixing please understand that we are not Apple and can't give you fixes, only workarounds.

I always bounce 3 frames before the audio start, and I'm giving "my film guys" just the timecode of the start of the file, and now, with timestamped wav it's even easier - no timecode needed anymore!

It's safer anyway to give the timecode of the start of the file rather than the start of the music as a lot of (film-) music starts fading in and it's hard to pinpoint frame-accurately the start of a piece.