Logic Project files and Dropbox

DorianW

Hi there, I was wondering if I could pick the collective brain? Do any of you use Logic Pro with the online storage platform DropBox?

It appears, and I'm far from a computer expert, that DropBox cannot accept a Logic Project File in it's natural state. All the files associated wioth the project are uploaded no problem, but the actual Logic project file... DropBox can't deal with it.

The platform sees it as a "Container", and shreds it into what can only be described as an unusable and absurd hellscape of folders.

I've tried several things, saving as Projects as folders (my preferred method for accessibility and similarity to other programs) as well as Pacakage, abnd the same thing happens when I upload the project to DropBox. I tried using iCloud and of course, being Apple owned, no problem. But I want to use Dropbox.

The workaround has been to zip each Song Project folder and upload the Zip. That works fine, but it's awfully annoying. It's only for backing up, but still, it would be nice to have Logic Projects uploaded to Dropbox in their normal and accessible state, much like on my computers and HD's.

Sorry for the long post, but it's seriously frustrating! Any help will be appreciated and rewarded with cute Cat photos.

Thanks folks!

• Like 1

The platform sees it as a "Container", and shreds it into what can only be described as an unusable and absurd hellscape of folders.

This describes my own experience with Logic projects on Dropbox quite accurately.

FWIW, Logic Project 'files' are, on the computer level, in fact folders, and these do contain other folders and files (do a ctrl-click on a project and select 'Show Package Contents' to see for yourself, but watch your step).

• Like 1

DorianW said:
but it's awfully annoying.

Sad to see what Dropbox has become - it was once a great, awesome, simple thing that was designed nicely and just_worked.

Now it's an invasive, bloaty, nagging, ugly b2b tool...