A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
kokekole
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2021 10:48 am

Moving Flex Time marker causes logic to lock up for a few minutes

Wed Oct 20, 2021 11:08 am

Hello

I have a strange issue with Logic when using Flex Time. I have a project with maybe a dozen of audio tracks and 6-ish software instrument tracks.
Immediately after I move a Flex marker, Logic shows a rainbow wheel and locks up for a few minutes. After it un-freezes itself, the flex marker is moved as I wanted it to, so the end result is correct, it's just it takes multiple minutes for each marker to move.

The issue manifests itself only on certain regions. It doesn't seem to be related to the length of the region or number of regions/comps/takes in the track. I have a couple of tracks with close to a total of thousand takes in 30-40 comps and flex time works seamlessly quickly on those. On the other hand, I have a track with a single comp of 3 takes, some 20 seconds long and it has this issue.

Things I've tried that didn't help

1. Move regions to other tracks
2. Disabling or removing effects on individual tracks as well as master
3. Bounce In Place on regions
4. Dragging the markers by holding them close to the top (so that the whole tail is moved)
5. Dragging the markers by holding them close to the bottom (so that only two small parts before and after are flexed)
6. Remove Original Recording Tempo

The only thing that helps is to export the region as an aif file and then insert the exported file into a new track.

I'm using a 2020 M1 256/16 Macbook Pro.
 
kokekole
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2021 10:48 am

Re: Moving Flex Time marker causes logic to lock up for a few minutes

Wed Oct 27, 2021 11:26 am

Any ideas? Just now I recorded a bunch of takes. Flex worked fine on each of them. I then selected two comps, made "Bounce in Place" to another track, then moved the result to another track, trying to use flex and get the rainbow ball for a minute each time I try to move flex markers.
 
kokekole
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2021 10:48 am

Re: Moving Flex Time marker causes logic to lock up for a few minutes

Thu Oct 28, 2021 11:20 am

I have narrowed it down somewhat. The problem seems to be occuring only on the regions recorded over the tempo changes. E.g. if I have one part with tempo 120 and then a tempo change to 100, and I record, say, a bass guitar part that spans both section, then if I try to drag the flex markets inside that part, I get the lock ups.
 
User avatar
stratquebec
Posts: 1117
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 8:58 pm
Location: Quebec

Re: Moving Flex Time marker causes logic to lock up for a few minutes

Thu Oct 28, 2021 11:43 am

Really no idea but do you use use any third party plugin(s)? If so, try to remove it/them all just to see if the problem goes away…
And please, give more infos on your system: Macos version, Logic version etc.
Logic Pro 10.6.3, 10.5.1, MacOs Catalina 10.15.7, 2012 iMac 27" 3.4 GHz i7, 1TB HD W/ Fusion drive, 8 GB ram, MacBook Pro Early 2015 (Retina, 13-inch) Big Sur, Logic 10.7.1, Behringer X-Touch, Focusrite Saffire Le w/ thunderbolt adapter - > firewire 800/400 cable, Korg nanokontrol2, Korg MicroKey 27, Alesis VI61
 
kokekole
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2021 10:48 am

Re: Moving Flex Time marker causes logic to lock up for a few minutes

Thu Oct 28, 2021 11:51 am

I've tried removing plugins altogether, it doesn't help.
Logic 10.6.3, MacOS 11.6.
 
User avatar
stratquebec
Posts: 1117
Joined: Sun Jul 21, 2013 8:58 pm
Location: Quebec

Re: Moving Flex Time marker causes logic to lock up for a few minutes

Fri Oct 29, 2021 5:43 am

Try using a guest user account.
Logic Pro 10.6.3, 10.5.1, MacOs Catalina 10.15.7, 2012 iMac 27" 3.4 GHz i7, 1TB HD W/ Fusion drive, 8 GB ram, MacBook Pro Early 2015 (Retina, 13-inch) Big Sur, Logic 10.7.1, Behringer X-Touch, Focusrite Saffire Le w/ thunderbolt adapter - > firewire 800/400 cable, Korg nanokontrol2, Korg MicroKey 27, Alesis VI61
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 87093
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Moving Flex Time marker causes logic to lock up for a few minutes

Fri Oct 29, 2021 5:51 am

kokekole wrote:
I have narrowed it down somewhat. The problem seems to be occuring only on the regions recorded over the tempo changes. E.g. if I have one part with tempo 120 and then a tempo change to 100, and I record, say, a bass guitar part that spans both section, then if I try to drag the flex markets inside that part, I get the lock ups.

Interesting. I'm not sure why Logic behaves like this in your case, but an idea of a workaround you could try would be to divide the region at the tempo change location, so that the two new regions no longer span a tempo change?
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.7.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 12.0.1 — 8 GB RAM
 
kokekole
Topic Author
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2021 10:48 am

Re: Moving Flex Time marker causes logic to lock up for a few minutes

Fri Oct 29, 2021 8:06 pm

No, simply splitting a region doesn't cure the issue. What helps is re-recording (e.g. via a bus) of each section between tempo changes.