A technical support community for Apple Logic Pro users.

 
User avatar
ozinga
Topic Author
Posts: 337
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 5:12 pm
Location: Istanbul
Contact:

Option to turn off auto gain adjustment

Thu Jun 17, 2021 4:37 am

There should be a way to avoid this. It gets me everytime I import stems from another DAW and I try to see what is wrong and then remember and bring back all regions to 0 db in inspector. I don't know what is the benefit of this feature.
 
User avatar
fuzzfilth
Posts: 5128
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 2:31 am
Location: Germany

Re: Option to turn off auto gain adjustment

Thu Jun 17, 2021 4:56 am

I have yet to experience automatic gain adjustment. Imported hundreds if not thousands of files and never did the Region Gain change. How do you import exactly ?
Christian Obermaier
Contact me for private Logic Consulting, Training, Troubleshooting via Skype, Zoom or Teamviewer

1 x MacPro 6core 2010 24Gb RAM
2 x MacBookPro i7 2012 16Gb RAM
OSX.14.6. Mojave, Logic X.5.1
 
User avatar
ozinga
Topic Author
Posts: 337
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 5:12 pm
Location: Istanbul
Contact:

Re: Option to turn off auto gain adjustment

Thu Jun 17, 2021 12:31 pm

Drag Drop in bulk from Finder to main area.
If you use File/Import and don't have the problem, that is good to know. I might try that.

Thanks!
 
User avatar
fuzzfilth
Posts: 5128
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 2:31 am
Location: Germany

Re: Option to turn off auto gain adjustment

Thu Jun 17, 2021 1:05 pm

ozinga wrote:
Drag Drop in bulk from Finder to main area.

No gain change if I do exactly that.
Christian Obermaier
Contact me for private Logic Consulting, Training, Troubleshooting via Skype, Zoom or Teamviewer

1 x MacPro 6core 2010 24Gb RAM
2 x MacBookPro i7 2012 16Gb RAM
OSX.14.6. Mojave, Logic X.5.1
 
User avatar
ozinga
Topic Author
Posts: 337
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 5:12 pm
Location: Istanbul
Contact:

Re: Option to turn off auto gain adjustment

Thu Jun 17, 2021 9:40 pm

Here is what happens when I do that.
These are 24/44.1 Files

 
User avatar
fuzzfilth
Posts: 5128
Joined: Mon Aug 03, 2009 2:31 am
Location: Germany

Re: Option to turn off auto gain adjustment

Fri Jun 18, 2021 12:09 am

Logic Version ?
Christian Obermaier
Contact me for private Logic Consulting, Training, Troubleshooting via Skype, Zoom or Teamviewer

1 x MacPro 6core 2010 24Gb RAM
2 x MacBookPro i7 2012 16Gb RAM
OSX.14.6. Mojave, Logic X.5.1
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 86490
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Option to turn off auto gain adjustment  Topic is solved

Fri Jun 18, 2021 12:15 am

Try turning off Auto Leveling in the Loop Browser. See: Logic Pro 10.5 - Auto adjusting gain ???

auto-leveling.png
auto-leveling.png (114.4 KiB) Viewed 6706 times
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM
 
User avatar
ozinga
Topic Author
Posts: 337
Joined: Thu Sep 20, 2007 5:12 pm
Location: Istanbul
Contact:

Re: Option to turn off auto gain adjustment

Fri Jun 18, 2021 12:46 am

Hey David,

I had found out that it only happens with Studio One exports and was trying to figure out the reason. It looks like if you check "write tempo to audio" option when you export from Studio One, Logic treats those files like Apple Loops, and do the auto leveling. Turning auto leveling off solved it!

Thank You!
 
User avatar
David Nahmani
Site Admin
Posts: 86490
Joined: Sat Mar 05, 2005 12:16 am
Contact:

Re: Option to turn off auto gain adjustment

Fri Jun 18, 2021 12:48 am

You're welcome! :)
David Nahmani
• My Logic Pro X 10.5 book (Apple Pro Training Series)
Contact me for Private Lessons
Logic Pro X 10.6.1
MacBook Air 1.3 GHz i5 — MacOS X 11.0.1 — 4 GB RAM
iMac 3.2 GHz Quad Core i5 — MacOS X 10.15.4 — 8 GB RAM