logic in slave mode

bigbuddha23

hi guys. i run a pro studio and have been using Cubase for 20 years. my question is can Logic run in slave mode to another DAW. i am new to logic. i like some of logics funky groovy stuff, instruments, pedal boards, synths etc, but i won't be running logic as my main DAW until i am 100% confident that i can do ANYTHING i can do in cubase at least as well, and as quickly in logic. i expect my own  learning curve to be at least another couple of months, ( me learning logic) but if logic can slave then i could run it in parallel, using Cubase for tracking audio, and Logic for instruments. Reason slaves to Cubase via rewire, and not sure if logic can be set up to do the same. i do have a BRC and a couple of Alesis HD24s,and the BRC generates SMPTE when running to tape, so i know thats an option, but often i just stream direct to mac and use the HD24s just for 48 in/outs.  i guess i should add that i was thinking of running both Logic and Cubase simultaneous on the one computer, so midi clock  etc wouldn't really work.    thanks for any ideas that might flow from everyone.....buddha

• 4 years later...

Sheesh. Sending MTC from LUNA via IAC Port 1.

LOGIC PRO X 10.4.5 is set to MTC sync (custom mode enabled in the transport bar, sync icon turns blue)

Press play in LUNA and nothing happens in Logic. I have the input busses for Logic set to IAC Port 1 as well.

Live 8 receives the signal and plays very well, follows LUNA's transport perfectly. (LUNA does not have rewire)

What else should I know to get Logic to hear the MTC?

779750348_ScreenShot2020-10-14at12_04_57AM.thumb.png.9e65a58a92dbde49d8a80d0bdfbbf18e.png

Sheesh. Sending MTC from LUNA via IAC Port 1.

LOGIC PRO X 10.4.5 is set to MTC sync (custom mode enabled in the transport bar, sync icon turns blue)

Press play in LUNA and nothing happens in Logic. I have the input busses for Logic set to IAC Port 1 as well.