System overload--its because of CPU or Memory?

Rockman413

I believe we all met System Overload The audio engine was not able to process all required data in time.

This is means CPU is not enough?

Indeed, yes, that is correct.

or we are somehow short of memory?

No. We're not. If we were, the message would have contained words like "memory" and "enough" and "not".

I've had the 'System Overload' message a few times recently, but after clicking on 'continue', it does not reappear during that particular session & everything functions as normal. My current processor is 2.3 GHz Intel Core i5. I never encountered this glitch with my previous MBPro which had a lower spec...any thoughts anyone?

Nigel.

If that's a CPU issue, could somebody, please, explain this paradox. I have 2 quad-core xeons 2.67 GHz each, the total of 8 cores.

While I'm running Logic I have no processes in the background, the Meter never shows CPU or Memory overload, but this System Overload issue keeps bugging me on and on. Please, see the pic below.

NB! My preferences are fresh and not crashed, this is a fresh installation of Logic Pro 9 (not updated from 8th).

Could somebody explain this, before I switch to Pro Tools and Ableton?

http://dali-music.com/images/external/system%20overload.png

What have you tried to combat/troubleshoot it?

One option to try is to set the number of Processing Threads to the highest availble, instead of to Automatic (which is the default)

Logic pro>Preferences>Audio>Devices>Coreaudio.

Also: what exact version of Logic do you have? 9.?.?

I have to add that I do no like your "or else..." attitude. You're not the first to do it and you will not be the last, but frankly, it can make posts go unanswered. Remember, none of us represent Apple in any way, we're all Logic users here, not Apples' sales representatives. That I am nevertheless replying is just because I am in an inexplicably forgiving mood today... 8)